Hatsu Special Prizes

Special prize deliberations and voting

Sanshō 三賞, literally “three prizes” are the three special prizes awarded to top (Makuuchi) division sumo wrestlers for exceptional performance during a sumo honbasho or tournament. The prizes were first awarded in November 1947. The three prizes are:
Shukun-shō (殊勲賞), Outstanding Performance prize
Kantō-shō (敢闘賞), Fighting Spirit prize
Ginō-shō (技能賞), Technique prize


Who will get the trophies and the ¥2 million that comes with each one? The prizes are voted on before the final day’s bouts take place, but some are conditional on a rikishi winning his last bout or on more exotic outcomes, such as winning the yusho.

The January prizes have just been announced:

Shukun-sho (Outstanding Performance Award)

West Maegashira #6 Abi (Kosuke Horikiri)  
Shikoroyama Beya
Date of Birth: May 4, 1994 (27 years old)
Place of Birth: Saitama
2013 May Debut

Kanto-sho (Fighting Spirit Prize)

East Maegashira #14 Kotonowaka (Masakatsu Kamatani)  
Sadogatake Beya
Date of Birth: November 19, 1997 (24 years old)
Place of Birth: Chiba
2015 November Debut

Gino-sho (Technique Prize)

East Sekiwake Mitakeumi (Hisashi Omichi)  
Dewanoumi Beya
Date of Birth: December 25, 1992 (29 years old)
Place of Birth: Nagano
2015 March Debut

5 thoughts on “Hatsu Special Prizes

    • it usually goes to someone who defeats a yokozuna or the yusho winner, but just doing so isn’t sufficient


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.