Kyushu Special Prizes

Via the Sumo Kyokai website:

Shukun-sho(Outstanding Performance Award)

East Maegashira #1 Daieisho(Hayato Takanishi)  
Oitekaze Beya
Date of Birth: November 10, 1993 (26 years old)
Place of Birth: Saitama
2012 January Debut

Kanto-sho(Fighting Spirit Prize)

West Maegashira #10 Shodai(Naoya Shodai)  conditionally
Tokitsukaze Beya
Date of Birth: November 5, 1991 (28 years old)
Place of Birth: Kumamoto
2014 March Debut

Gino-sho(Technique Prize)

West Komusubi Asanoyama(Hiroki Ishibashi)  
Takasago Beya
Date of Birth: March 1, 1994 (25 years old)
Place of Birth: Toyama
2016 March Debut

17 thoughts on “Kyushu Special Prizes

  1. Shodai for the kanto-sho is a surprise, given he’s ranked well below his norm. If Ishiura had managed to get to 10 (or 9 by today), I think he’d have deserved it.

    • Agreed. In the last couple of years Ikioi and Aoiyama have posted 11 wins from the bottom of the banzuke and not picked up a prize, because an ex-sekiwake SHOULD be able to rack up a stack of wins from that rank. Any future prizes for Shodai should carry the condition “only awarded if you keep your bloody head down at the tachi-ai”

  2. What;s the reasoning behind daeisho getting the ‘outstanding performance’? He’s been good, sure, but he might yet finish on 8-7 – and even if he gets to 9-6 that is hardly exceptional, is it?

  3. I always wondered if one special prize is more prestigious over another. Say the Outstanding Performance over the Fighting Spirit or are there all of equal rank?

  4. I can’t believe Ishiura didn’t get the gino-sho. He’s been busting out rare kimarite bout after bout, and has honestly looked quite strong. That said, it’s not like Asanoyama doesn’t deserve it.

    • It’s not awarded for rare techniques but quality of technique (officially, anyway). A rikishi could win with nothing but yorikiri but do so with such effortless domination that he is judged to have superior technical skill. It’s also said to be the most prestigious of the three awards, so it isn’t handed out wantonly. Though not completely unheard of (see:Enho) it remains pretty unusual for a low-ranked rikishi to get one with only 9 wins, which is the most Ishiura is able to get this time (and may yet finish on just 8-7).

      One other thing: Asanoyama winning doesn’t rule out someone else getting it. There’s no cap on sansho. They can award more than one of each and even none at all.


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.